Dorothy Perkins Brunch

As the title suggests, I was very honoured to be invited to attend a Dorothy Perkin brunch on Saturday and get to browse the Zanzibar collection before it was released anywhere else.

This was what I wore to the event.

Tee: Esprit
Cropped jeans: +J
Belt: Topshop
Watch: Swatch
Clutch: H&M
Shoes: Bata (Ikr but they do have nice designs at times!)

Well, it’s apparent my interest in colour-blocking has yet to wear off and in fact, quite on the contrary, it has extended to my lips and nails. (Did I mention I am loving this neon orange so much? I really am quite obsessed!)

Right, so back to the event, I was surprised at the crowd when I arrived—the store was packed! There were waiters serving mini smoked salmon sandwiches and chilled tea, photographers busy snapping shots of the stylish attendees and eager shoppers who cannot wait to make full use of the 20% storewide offer.

The people of F3 have thoughtfully hired Barbara and Jessica to explain the S/S11 trends in Dorothy Perkins, recommend trendy options and also offer valuable advice to the shoppers after.


Some key pieces that were mentioned.

ORANGE!

This caught my eye, I so love the oriental knot adorning this pair of heels!

Dorothy Perkins brought in many bright printed pieces this time round. To be frank, I’m not a fan of florals—but their ethnic prints won me over! +100000000000000 points for this because it is so hard to find pretty ethnic prints that doesn’t look cheap.

Some of the trends mentioned were maxi dresses (a wide variety available in stores now!), floaty chiffon cardigans and voluminous trousers. In other words, soft drapey styles with a 70s feel~

Shown below are some my of my favorite pieces from the label and how I would accessorize them.

Dress: DP
(I thought red was an unusual choice for a dress embellished in gold but it worked here.)
Ring: YSL
Shoes: Jeffrey Campbell
Bag: River Island


Dress & Scarf: DP
(I’m such a slave for leopard prints and it makes me so thrilled that I can recycle last season’s items. Simply inject some colour to your outfit and summer is here~)
Earrings: Louis Vuitton
Clutch: Marc Jacobs
Sandals: Tony Burch

Shirt, shorts & clutch: DP
(Colour blocking in pastels. This is such a cute wearable mix!)
Spectacles: Ray-Ban
Assorted accessories: ASOS
Heels: Elizabeth&James

It has been a great experience all in all and I am definitely liking Dorothy Perkins a lot more now (have always thought it was supposed to appeal to a more mature crowd but I think they have since changed so it’s time for me to get rid of this misconception now)! Don’t be afraid to experiment with prints—there’s no other seasons better than summer to be loud!

xx

2 thoughts on “Dorothy Perkins Brunch

Leave a Reply

