The Labyrinth

“It’s not life or death, the labyrinth. Suffering. Doing wrong and having wrong things happen to you. That’s the problem. Bolivar was talking about the pain, not about the living or dying. How do you get out of the labyrinth of suffering?”

—John Green, Looking For Alaska

950ff0bf079d332b38c8a97cd0b67fa3

I have been thinkingsadness is a necessary evil.

I mean, like in art, there is contrast between everything. Without the space intentionally created on one side of the canvas, how else can you accentuate the chaos on the other end? Without monochromes, how would you make the RGB colours pop? Likewise, without sadness, how would you differentiate among the spectrum of affect?

So, basically, I have come to the conclusion that being sadness is, sadly, a necessary evil.

I have learnt, over the years, to embrace sadness. To me, sadness lurks in all spaces and all corners. Sadness is my friend. It’s a provocation, a muse, a ghost. Sometimes it frustrates me to no end that I am grasping on to such an imperceptible notion. Yet, if you think about it, only with acceptance can you free yourself from its torturous clutches. (See depression video in a post a few weeks back here x)

I just believe that affections and emotions are the very essence of living. Think about your heart. No, not the lopsided one which pumps blood all around our body with its ventricles, atria & all sorts of valves; I’m talking about the imaginary one that soars when you love and aches when you cease to be loved. How riveting it is that the heart we so often talked about, and far too often feel does not actually exist! Yet, it’s these emotions that dictate your life. The philosophical side of life is indeed bewildering.

I guess it takes a certain amount of skill to embrace all the good & bad in life, & understand & appreciate that it’s all part & parcel of life & ultimately what makes (or breaks) you in the end. I’m definitely inept in this area myself. I think a lot all the time, but I don’t necessarily do it. And you see, that‘s the problem.

Leave a Reply

