Turning Twenty-Four

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

So I had a crazy idea. And I felt genuinely blessed that my partner and my parents are crazy enough to do it with me.

This was what I said – “I want to take photos with balloons for my birthday.”

Soon, it blew in proportions.

I spent hundreds on my dress, which I adore to bits because it’s so timeless, sexy, fearless and carefree, exactly what I seek to embody now that I turn twenty-four.

K bought this huge balloon bouquet, which was delivered to my doorstep, because he insisted no one should buy him/herself balloons. There were the metallic foil numbers that say 24 (but as you can see from the snaps, refused to stay as so, sometimes even jumbling up into 42 – the time would come in 18 years’ when I could reuse these pictures), and then there were twenty-four accompanying latex balloons in assorted colours.

My dad left work early and came home so that we could shoot before/when the sun sets. The balloon bouquet is horrendously big and it took us a while to stuff them all his car. We all literally couldn’t move in our seats because the balloons were everywhere in the car.

My mum was all geared up in her long sleeved shirt, pants and cap, ready to brave the UV rays; she was the photographer of the day.

I had hoped for the golden hour, for these days, Singapore has been sadly gloomy from the haze. Well, there wasn’t any golden hour, unfortunately, to soak me in its gloriousness and cast dramatically long shadows but fortunately enough, just enough sunlight to shoot rather steadily and painlessly. The wind was surprisingly strong too, which explains why my balloons didn’t stay straight up haha.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy these snaps. They are the result of the love and effort of people who love me and whom I love in return. Happy twenty-four to me!

x

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2 thoughts on “Turning Twenty-Four

Leave a Reply

