Life Goes On

tumblr_n68yghY6Eu1qlmppmo1_500

Each December, I give thanks. It’s hard to do so this year. I don’t want to be ungrateful but there’s really hardly anything celebratory about this year. My life has come to standstill and I could no longer recognize what is true and what isn’t. In fact, my heart does not ache anymore. It’s just sore from too much aching.

2014 started on a good note, and I’ve had high hopes. It was supposed to be a pivotal year in my life, having left the university and secured a job of my profession in my ideal company. All seemed well.

Naturally, there were hits and misses, except to my dismay, there were more of the latter. I guess it’s one of those years when life decides to give you lemons out of nowhere? It wasn’t easy. There were so many things, so many events that went horribly wrong. Too many plot twists, too many disappointments, too much misfortune.

Thankfully, I’m not one who wallows in self pity. More accurately, I swallow my tears and fears and I continue to hold my head high. Because it’s not the end of the world, I tell myself, so chin up, buttercup.

Because 2015 can only get better.

Right?

Leave a Reply

