The Lens That Keeps Up With My Demanding Days

Tired and dry eyes towards the end of the day are the bane of my existence. I start to blink more frequently than usual, and even with doing so, the relief was transient and my vision starts to blur. This is especially frustrating when I have plans to go for post-work dates with my family or friends. Rubbing my eyes all the time is hardly attractive!
These eye issues have been plaguing me for some time now, so it is little wonder that I start to worry about my eye health with each passing year.
Recently, I have had the opportunity to go for an eye examination and contact lens fitting session, courtesy of Sample Store and Acuvue.

IMG_0335.JPG

My consultation was held at Eye Fusion, with their optometrist, Mr. Donald Chong.

I do not remember doing any eye check-ups at all in my life so I was frankly quite clueless around the store. Fortunately, Donald was friendly and guided me patiently throughout the comprehensive check-up.

img_0345

I had to remove my own lenses for at least ten minutes prior to the assessments.

The most common test in all optical shops has to be the refractive assessment whereby the optician or optometrist switches among a series of lenses and asks you to read out rows of alphabets on a projected eye chart. This tedious procedure is used to determine your final eyeglass prescription.

Besides the refractive assessment, Donald also used a machine that could magnify my eyes so that he could observe the various structures including the cornea and iris. He commented that there was slight neovascularization into my cornea, possibly due to extended lens wear depriving my eye of oxygen.

Donald then proceeded to assess my corneal health by holding a piece of paper with a fluorescent dye to the surface of my eye and then asking me to blink a few times so the dye is spread across my eye (don’t worry, there was zero discomfort or pain). After that, he used another machine which emitted blue light to check my eyes. Much to my relief, he observed no damage to my cornea.

Another test which I found to be very interesting was the glaucoma test. This particular machine releases a puff of air into each eye to check the eye pressure. Mine fell within the normal range.

img_0346

After the thorough assessment, I was recommended the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day contact lenses with HydraLuxe™, and was even given a pair to try out on the spot.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

The Acuvue Oasys 1-Day contact lenses with HydraLuxe™ is a silicone hydrogel lens, an advanced soft lens which provides up to four times oxygen permeability compared to the regular hydrogel lens. This highly breathable material is especially beneficial for corneal health, reducing the risk of neovascularization.

HydraLuxe™ refers to a network of tear-like molecules on the lens which will integrate and support our own tear film by increasing the number of molecular bonds within the polymer structure. This interaction strengthens and stabilizes the structure to reduce friction when blinking, as well as prevent dryness towards the end of the day. I love understanding the science behind these novel products!

img_0359

Having tried it for a week so far, I do find my vision sharper, and my eyes looking clearer and brighter. Honestly, I still can’t kick the habit of wearing my lens for more than ten hours a day, but there is certainly an improvement with regards to the dryness I always encounter. No more feeling like my lenses are stuck to my eyeballs at the end of the day!

Another amazing thing I discovered was that after taking my lenses out and putting them on my bedside (the wastepaper basket is not nearby and I am lazy), the Acuvue Oasys contact lenses remained soft and pliable the next morning. All my lenses in the past would have shriveled up and hardened!

To add on, these Acuvue Oasys 1-Day contact lenses with HydraLuxe™ comes with UV protection, making it great for my workout days. I love outdoor adventures so these are definitely going into my backpack!

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

With so many matters on hand to fret over these days, the last thing we want is to be bothered by dry and tired eyes. Acuvue Oasys 1-Day contact lenses with HydraLuxe™ can help unlock first jobbers’ career goals as they transit into a more demanding lifestyle.

Acuvue Oasys 1-Day contact lenses with HydraLuxe™ retails at $72 for a box of 30’s. Download the e-voucher here to enjoy $30 off your first purchase (applicable to ACUVUE® OASYS 1-DAY, 1-DAY ACUVUE® DEFINE®, 1-DAY ACUVUE® MOIST® FOR ASTIGMATISM, and 1-DAY ACUVUE® MOIST® FOR MULTIFOCAL, with minimum purchase of two boxes for first-time voucher users).

IMG_0337.JPG

Eyes Fusion Optometrists

Add: 10 Anson Road, #01-71 International Plaza, 079903

Tel: 6222 3221

www.eyesfusion.com

facebook.com/eyesfusion/

Leave a Reply

